Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

1. 2014-04-05It was time to relax my hair. I said the last time I wouldn’t stretch my relaxer more than 16 week, but damn it man I stretched for 25 weeks. There is nothing wrong with stretching your relaxer for so long, but I wanted to minimize it to 16-20 week. The last time I relaxed my hair I was 31 weeks post… yup 31 weeks.

I decided to relax my hair because it wasn’t manageable for me. The struggle was real when I tried to style my hair.

The week before I did a protein treatment to prepare my hair for the relaxer.

It’s time for the creamy crack !!!

[1] I always prep my scalp for the relaxer. I part my hair in small section. Then I apply Vaseline on my scalp only. I grease my scalp because a Lye-relaxer is harsh on the scalp. Yup I said it!!  I’m also thinking of switching back to a No-Lye relaxer. I will tell you why in a different blog post. But yeah.. after greasing my scalp I apply the relaxer on my new growth only. When the relaxer is applied I smooth out the new growth with my fingers. I only use my fingers to smooth out the new growth.

This time I didn’t watch the time, but I think I was done in 20 minutes with everything. That is applying and smoothing out my new growth. As soon I felt some tingling at the back, it was time to rinse out the relaxer.

[2] When my hair was relaxer free I applied ApHogee Keratin 2 Minute Reconstructor on my hair and left it on for 5 minutes. After that it was time to wash my hair. I used Elasta Qp Stop Action Shampoo – my new baby –. I like this shampoo because it changes colour from pink to white. The pink colour means that you still have some relaxer on your hair.

2. 2014-04-05[3] To soak up the water I used a T-shirt to dry my hair.  Because of the relaxer I needed a conditioner that will bring my hair back to the yes hunty status .. lool. For my deep conditioner I used Motions CPR Treatment Conditioner mixed with some oils (Macadamia , Castor and Peppermint oil). In small section I applied it to my hair. Covered my hair with a plastic bag and sat under the hooded dryer for 45 minutes. My hair felt so so so good. This conditioner is definitely a keeper. My hair was so soft soft soft !!

[4]  If you know me by now, you know I always start late with my routine. After rinsing out the conditioner, I was done with the routine. It was around 23:00PM and I only had eyes for my bed (I sleep early). I applied Creme of Nature Argan Oil Strength & Shine and Elasta QP Mango Butter Olive Oil & Mango Butter Leave-In H2 Conditioner all over my hair as a leave in.  The Argan oil leave is for strength and the Elasta QP for moisture. I then detangled my hair and styled my hair in high bun.

3. 2014-04-05[5] In the morning my hair wasn’t 100% dry. In section of 4 I then blow dried my hair. When my hair was dry, it was time to flat iron my hair. The setting of the flat iron was on 210ºC and I only did one pass. As my heat protect I used TRESemme Heat Defence for blow drying and John Frieda Frizz Ease serum to straighten my hair.  

4. 2014-04-05 5. 2014-04-05 6. 2014-04-05

I had a bittersweet feeling when I was done. I’m still dealing with thin relaxed ends and… Ohw yeah … almost forgot to mention. Although I relax, my hair is texlaxed. I don’t relax my hair bone straight. With texlaxing you still have some texture. 
