Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

pH strips

Like 3 weeks ago I finally ordered pH Indicator Strips online. For the readers who are thinking pH strips?? For what? ?. Well it’s important to know what the pH balance of a product is. Why??

The standard pH balance of our hair is  4,5 – 5,5. Which means that your hair is normal (normal shine & luster). The pH scale ranges from 0 – 14. This is really important to know because the range is divided into two parts, acids & alkaline.

Products with a low pH balance falls in the range acids (0 – 6,9). This are products that will make your cuticle lay flat. Then you have alkaline that ranges from 7,1 – 14. This are products that will lift up your cuticle layer.

Information from ‘The Science of Black Hair’ book

With that being said, I wanted to know what the pH balance of my products are. Because I’m a product junkie, I will start with shampoo first.

I mixed the shampoos  with a little bit of water. I wasn’t sure what the right way was, but in the book ‘The Science of Black Hair’ it tells: test the products (along with your tap water) with pH test strips. 

Shampoo pH balance
TRESemmé Deep Cleansing (clarify) 4,0
Nexxus Luxurious Moisturizing 4,3
Salerm Protein 4,3
Creme of Nature Argan Oil Moisture & Shine 4,3
TRESemmé Nourishing Moisture 4,3 – 4,6
ApHogee Deep Moisture 4,6
Herbal essences (moisture) 5,2
ORS Creamy Aloe (neutralizing) 5,5 – 5,8

shampoo

Overall I’m happy with my shampoo balance. I think my next step will be reviewing each product based on their ingredients and what they supposed to do.

